Shining a Light on Exemplary Christian Books


Who May Enter

Authors, illustrators, publishers and self-publishers of Christian books written in English. Authors and illustrators are welcome to enter their books themselves.


Books that are published with a 2022, 2023, or 2024 copyright or that were released since January 1, 2022 are eligible. The contest is for published books, but ISBN is not required. Submission of galley copies is permissible if finished copies are not yet available. Publishers are to select the category or categories in which the book(s) should be judged. E-books are eligible for entry into our regular subject categories where they will be judged alongside print books.

Enduring Light categories 

As most book award contests recognize only titles released during the previous calendar year or two, we’ve created the Enduring Light medals to reward exemplary Christian-themed books published since the year 2000. These medals are presented to books with enduring messages in five categories: Christian Thought, Devotional, Inspirational, Christian Fiction, and Christian Children’s Book. Entry fees are the same as in regular categories, and two judging copies are requested. Entry publication dates can go as far back as 2000, but current titles are also eligible. 

Submission and Fees

Submitting a title into more than one category is acceptable, but an entry fee is charged for each category entered. Submit one copy of the title per category entered. For example, when you enter two categories, please send four books; when entering three categories, please send six books. All books entered become the physical property of the Jenkins Group and will eventually be donated to local libraries and charities. E-book entries will be erased after the awards results are announced.

Judging Process

Judging will be based on content, design, and production quality, with emphasis on innovation and creative ways of expressing a Christian worldview. Our judging panel includes experts from the fields of education, clergy, book production and bookselling. Three to five medalists per category will be named on or about February 9, 2024.


All entries must be made online OR postmarked by January 6, 2024. Books have a 10 day grace period to arrive. We will confirm your entry via email.


Gold, silver and bronze medals will be awarded in each category. Gold, silver and bronze award seals will be available to all in their appropriate award levels. Each winning book receives a medal, a personalized certificate, and 20 sample seals.

Contest Entry Confirmation and Updates

We will confirm your entry via email and send judging updates and results announcements by email as well, so submission of a valid email address is mandatory. Add,, to your contacts to ensure our emails are accepted. Please inform us of any email address changes or additional contacts you’d like added to our contest update list.