Shining a Light on Exemplary Christian Books


How Do I Enter?

Entry into the Illumination Book Awards is fast and convenient, either through our online entry site or by printable entry form. Online entry requires using a credit card and printing out entry coupon and mailing labels; use the printable mail-in entry form below to pay by check or money order in U.S. funds. Visit the online entry site here.


Who can enter?



Books that are published with a 2022, 2023, or 2024 copyright or that were released since January 1, 2022 are eligible. The contest is for published books, but ISBN is not required. Submission of galley copies is permissible if finished copies are not yet available. Entrants are to select the category or categories in which the book(s) should be judged. E-books are eligible for entry into our regular subject categories where they will be judged alongside print books, as well as eligible for our DIGITAL MEDIA category.


Ebooks files can be uploaded after entering online or sent as a gift from the sales site of choice.  Audiobooks must be sent as a gift from the sales platform of choice- these files cannot be uploaded. Please name files with the title of your book (e.g.- The Bible would be The Bible.pdf). Entries can be shared or sent to digital [at]


As most book award contests recognize only titles released during the previous calendar year or two, we’ve created the Enduring Light medals to reward exemplary Christian-themed books published since the year 2000. These medals are presented to books with enduring messages in five categories: Christian Thought, Devotional, Inspirational, Christian Fiction, and Christian Children’s Book. Entry fees and requirements are the same as in regular categories. Entry publication dates can go as far back as 2000, but current titles are also eligible. 


What does it cost?

The first early-bird entry fee is $75 until June 24, 2023. The second early-bird entry fee is $85 from June 24, 2022 until September 30, 2023. The third phase fee is $95 per category until the final deadline until January 6, 2024. You can enter online or download a printable entry form


What do the winners receive?

Gold, silver, and bronze medals will be awarded in each category. Each medal-winning book receives a packet including the medal, a certificate, 20 foil award seals, and awards marketing material. The award is designed as a marketing tool, so we hope the most valuable aspect of the award is in its promotional value and as a book sales stimulator.


What do I send in my entry package?

Please send two copies for each category entered. When entering a title in two categories, send four copies; entering three categories, send six copies, etc. Please include your online registration receipt or a completed entry form and check/money order in the same package as the books, preferably tucked inside the front cover. You need not send any marketing kits, reviews or any other supporting material, as our judges are not allowed to see anything but the book itself.


How are books judged?

Judging will be based on content, design, and production quality, with emphasis on innovation and creative ways of expressing a Christian worldview. Our judging panel includes experts from the fields of education, clergy, book production and bookselling. Three to five medalists per category will be named on or about February 9, 2024.


How do I find out if I won?

We will confirm your entry via email and send judging updates and results announcements by email as well, so submission of a valid email address is mandatory. Please inform us of any email address changes or additional contacts you’d like added to our contest update list.


Questions? Contact Amy Shamroe — 231.933.0445 x1000 — or use our Contact Page.